Facebook Break

Standard

For anyone who follows my page on Facebook, this is just to acknowledge that I unpublished the page this past Friday. I haven’t decided whether this is temporary or permanent.

I began feeling too exposed & vulnerable. The goal of this blog & my page is to allow me to share my thoughts, values, & opinions about my parenting journey with other like-minded individuals.

It’s important to me that I maintain some element of anonymity, as I share things about my family & myself. The Facebook page was shared too often with people I know who could both identify me & be offended by or become defensive about my thoughts.

I’m ok with alienating strangers, for the most part. I’m not ok with alienating people I deal with in my day-to-day life.

I’m not deleting my blog. I love my blog. If someone wants to know my thoughts enough to seek out my blog & then be offended, then ok.

Facebook’s policies for how they recommend pages, etc just put me too much out in the open to feel comfortable any longer.

So I don’t know if this makes a lot of sense to random people who read my blog, but in case anyone who follows me on Facebook comes here wondering, this is my statement. :-)

My Pinterest page is still active, so feel free to follow me there for memes & articles that relate to my journey. Leave me comments here & there. I’ve so enjoyed getting to know a number of awesome mamas over the past several months. I’d love to continue.

I’ve recently finished a few posts, so I’ll be at least adding some new stuff over the next month or two. I’ll keep working here, because I enjoy it.

Maybe someday I’ll return to Facebook or another site like it. For now, though, I’m pulling back & keeping myself a little less exposed.

Thank you for all the support I’ve received.

Only love. Always.

About Alyssa

I'm a stay-at-home mommy of two children. When I'm not cleaning, cooking, kissing owies, changing diapers, or rescuing the dog from the toddler, I've been known to write, garden, play on my Kindle, peruse Facebook, edit pictures, play video games, and get crafty. Rumor is I'll be dragging my behind onto the treadmill. I love Thai food and historical romance novels. Someday, when the kiddos are older, I'll be pursuing a career in editing. Purple is the best color on earth, but it has a silly name.

Leave a Reply

